Vikrum Mehta Leads Final 15 in the GUKPT Luton Main Event
18 October 2019
PokerBrave (1135 articles)

Vikrum Mehta is the man to catch going into the final day of the 2019 Grosvenor UK Poker Tour Luton Main Event where only 15 players remain in the hunt for the £83,590 first-place prize. Mehta is the only player returning to battle with more than one million chips after bagging up 1,044,000 betting tokens at the close of play on Day 2.

2019 GUKPT Luton Main Event End of Day 2 Chip Counts

Place Player Chips
1 Vikrum Mehta 1,044,000
2 Chris Yong 683,000
3 Tom Hall 491,000
4 Antoine Labat 451,000
5 Dean Clay 428,000
6 Tim Chung 395,000
7 Sachin Joshi 378,000
8 Sebastian Jung 367,000
9 Kevin Charalambous 352,000
10 Phil Corion 341,000
11 Hasan Gul 330,000
12 Vincent Meli 266,000
13 Paul Siddle 239,000
14 Lee French 200,000
15 Andrew Hulme 181,000

Last year’s GUKPT Luton Main Event attracted a field of 304 players but this latest edition saw 307 players buy-in and create a £307,000 prize pool. The top 30 finishers receive prize money for their effort with the money bubble burst on Saturday’s Day 2.

Day 1A saw the 90 entrants whittled down to a more manageable 28. Lee French topped the counts with 141,800 and he also progressed from Day 2, albeit 14th from the surviving 15 players. Only 66 of the 211 Day 1B entrants punched their Day 2 tickets, including Mehta whose 147,000 stack was good enough for second place in the overnight counts. Phil Corion ended Day 1b as the chip leader and returns to action on the final day with 341,000 chips, enough for 10th place at the restart.

Day 2 started with 94 players but five more took advantage of late registration and entered the fray. The likes of World Series of Poker Main Event finalist Nick Marchington, Alex Bounsall,David Gee, double GUKPT Luton champion Driton Haxhiaj, Yiannis Liperis, and Richard Kellett all crashed out before the money places.

Money Bubble Bursts

Alan Stearn bust close to the money bubble when he busted in 32nd place. Vince Meli opened, Stearn three-bet shoved with eight-seven and only Tim Chung called the shove, doing so with a pair of black queen. Chung flopped two pair and while Stearn improved to two pair on the turn, he failed to fill up on the river and busted out.

Masoud Etemadiherisi was the unfortunate soul to bust in 31st place.

Etemadiherisi’s exit paved the way to the cashier’s desk for such luminaries as Kuljinder Sidhu, Phil Souki, David Clarkson, Guy Taylor, Brandon Sheils, and Martin Frey, the latter being the final elimination of the night.

Play resumes at midday with the final 15 players guaranteed £3,310 but only 14 players away from an £83,590 score. Mehta is in pole position right now and sixth-place or better would lock up his first five-figure prize for six years.

Mehta won’t have everything his own way despite enjoying a lead of more than 360,000 chips. This is because talented players such as Tom Hall, Dean Clay, the aforementioned Chung, Andrew Hulme and the in-form Paul Siddle are in the hunt for the title; Siddle was the Devilfish Cup runner-up and reached the WPT UK Main Event final table.